PDA

View Full Version : JW.WindowBomb


Howard Burford
09-12-2002, 09:16 AM
:eek:

Running the latest McAfee antivirus update flagged up a file as having a computer virus called JS/Winbomb.
The file is .......|Evrsodt\Iscripts\Buttons\Six buttons from hell.ixs

Is this a rogue or is it Evrsoft's own which just looks like a virus??

Fir now I've deleted it!

Hopward B

Dynasty
09-12-2002, 09:31 AM
I believe it was put there on purpose, it is a script that you can put in webpages that uses an exploit to quickly leak memory till a system crashes. It probably shouldn't have been added really but it makes a good laugh if you get people emailing you about their computers crashing when they click a "Do not click this link" link :P

BoR|S
09-15-2002, 12:54 PM
That is the main reason I can't stand using Antivirus software, they come up with such wierd things as not letting me to write a word document because the macro I used there was considered as a virus...

When I try to understand how some viruses work, the antivirus constantly interrupts my work...

Bruceslog
09-16-2002, 01:28 PM
I just downloaded and installed 1st Page 2000, and during the install my PC Cillin quarantined the same file that Howards Bufords McAfee A/V tagged, ( Evrsodt\Iscripts\Buttons\Six buttons from hell.ixs ), only PC Cillin said it was a virus named JS_LOOP.A . I'm just gonna leave it quarantined for now and look at it later. I just figured I'd check the forums to see if EvrSoft was aware of it and if it was indeed a real virus.
I know that some scripts can set off A/V definitions and all, so just checking on it. Thought I'd post this to possibly catch EvrSofts attention, and maybe EvrSoft might want to notify the A/V makers to firm up their definition some, since I doubt I'd have enough pull to get McAfee or Trend to even look at it.
Ok, back to the learning curve for 1stPage... having fun so far :D

Later all.....

Bruce :cool:

kenconk
09-19-2002, 02:46 AM
Yes, my new Virus defs from Norton Antivirus turned up
"The Six buttons from hell" script as having JS.Window
trojan. They didn't have any info about it, but Mcaffee did..
http://vil.mcafee.com/dispVirus.asp?virus_k=98753
I've seen these broswer crashing scripts before..

Regards, kenconk :p

Sky
09-19-2002, 11:21 AM
Hmm that could be usefull.... how is it implimented?

kenconk
09-19-2002, 06:54 PM
Try The Bomb Website (http://web.mouser.org/bomb/) using the script
they call "Window Spawner."

Regards, kenconk :eek:

ButlerJCTC
09-25-2002, 10:50 AM
:eek:

I run Norton AntiVirus on my PC. The other morning, it reported a virus with a file in the 1st Page 2000 directories. I'm not sure if this is a true virus or just that the file in question had a virus like signature.

The file name was "Six buttons from hell.izs" and the virus was the JS.WindowBomb

HZR
09-25-2002, 12:32 PM
Has been posted before:)

KewlKat007
10-11-2002, 10:15 AM
Umm.. ok.. At first I didn't see why to lock the topic, but all of the replies are the same. It is the story of how they discovered what the previous poster posted. One main thing I haven't seen mentioned. That there is nothing to really worry about.

Those scripts for the 6 buttons are in definately nortons signature files to help protect from them. I don't mean to remove the javascript code from evrsoft, but from the website. Norton has a feature that protects from malicious scripts being ruun from a website. If you would go to a website and have norton enabled to protect the browser, and you would come upon a site which has one of, or all of those javascripts on it, then norton would alert you so that you don't end up blindly clicking a link that would cause you to reboot the computer.

As for worrying about an infection, etc, NAH! It's a malicious prank javascript. It does not infect you or anyone elses computer

As to why they added to 1st Page 2000 list of scripts, I have no idea. I guess they wanted to add something humerous (even though to the person clicking on the script I'm sure it isn't humerous).

Basically, if the script bothers you that much, there's tons of postings on here saying where the file it. SImply delete it and live on with your life. :cool:

BoR|S
10-11-2002, 12:35 PM
This is IMHO the best reply on this subject, therefor I added a link to it inside an announcement that you can see at the top of all the forums.

Anyway, I lock this thread as well.